DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Employers wants to use footage

Meelius

Reactions
Hi. I work as a lecturer at a UK university. Recently I shot some pretty nice footage over the campus buildings

I did a 1 min edit and posted onto my Vimeo, and a colleague who saw it suggested I send the link to the Marketing dept.
I did so without really thinking and now they are asking me if I can give them the original footage for a promotional video they are making.

What do I say to them?

The thing is

1) I am not licensed commercially yet. ( Am trying to save in order to take the £1000+ PFCO course soon )

2) I'm fairly new in my post, and don't want to P them off by saying an outright no, but on the other hand this is a UK University that is effectively a multi million pound business, and I feel that if they want to use my work in promoting their business then it's only fair they pay the going rate. ( or something close to it)

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Heres the edit btw

Thanks

M

I’m in the US, but its the same here. Not sharing my work until I can do it legally. If your mployer asks you to do something illegal, would you do it? There isn’t a difference with what you filmed. Maybe be less open about what you are doung until you can announce it? See if you can get a written agreement that you only voluntarily gave it to them and that there were no job related benefits in doing so. Otherwise, even a fringe benefit like a meal is not permitted here in the US.

Last edited:
A couple of things to consider:
• Make sure there are no regulations for drones on campus.
• Put a copyright on the Vimeo you released.
• If they have the tenacity to ask for your raw footage to use as a promotional (Which would benefit the school financially) I would have the tenacity to ask what would be your payment. You are employed by them, they don't own you.

Reactions: Meelius