DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Air 2 Example of Placing a Virtual Car into Drone Footage and using the spherical panorama feature to create lighting and reflections.

cgmaxed

Reactions
This footage was taken by a Mav Air 2. I used camera tracking software to create a virtual camera and scene, then imported the video and camera tracking data into a 3d software program. I added the Rolls Royce (looks a little fake), but I'm still learning. I used the spherical panorama to create an invisible HDRI sphere around the car, that reflects the actual scenery and lighting that would be there, if a real car was there. I should have done color and other post processing of the video to help better match the look of the car to the video, but this is just an example.

Very cool & looking pretty good!

I’m a little confused about the scaling of the car; or maybe it’s the scaling of the HDRI. It appears that the car gets bigger, or, the scene gets smaller as the shot progresses beyond 0:19 or so. It looks like the gravel in front of the car is bigger at the start than at the end. Maybe.

(Edit - this section was previously based on my incorrect reading that a 360 was used)
The closer elements you reveal in the shot the wonkier scaling gets. I think the wide angle shots tend to overstate changes in distance, which mostly isn’t a problem until you composite a real 3D model.
(End edit)

Can you change your virtual camera to have a wider field of view to compensate?

For all that this looks very good! And, the image-based lighting is working really well!

Last edited:
Awesome, thanks for sharing!

Very cool & looking pretty good!

I’m a little confused about the scaling of the car; or maybe it’s the scaling of the HDRI. It appears that the car gets bigger, or, the scene gets smaller as the shot progresses beyond 0:19 or so. It looks like the gravel in front of the car is bigger at the start than at the end. Maybe.