DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Exposure Options

Citizen Flier

Reactions
I'm a new M2Pro Pilot, but an experienced stills shooter, less so w/video. If the recommended exposure mode is manual, how do you deal with drastic light fluctuations? I was following a runner along a trail at dusk (video), and exposure was spot on for the areas that still had direct light. But this was a canyon, and the runner passed through substantial shadow areas. I couldn't even see her on the screen. I am not referring to momentary fluctuations, more like a dark shadow area where a moving subject maybe be in shade for as long as 5-10+ seconds etc.
I understand that Auto Exposure can cause wild fluctuations. But what is the workflow for getting decent exposure when the subject passes through shaded areas? Thumbwheel ISO adjustment? Just correct in post?

Is there not an enhanced Auto Exposure setting that can slow the rate of exposure change? Or should I use the thumbwheel (in manual mode)? Obviously Manual Exp is a slam dunk in open grassy areas or over water, snow etc. But as dawn/dusk typically offer the best light, there will be substantial areas of dark shade. Is using manual exp, is the thumbwheel the best option for correction? And if so should it be set to increase ISO?

Thanks

I was watching a Mavic Pro training video on Lynda.com and he talked about this very thing: locking exposure during a scene so you won't have auto-exposure making things weird. Like, pulsing in and out. It's a very common thing for videography. You have to watch for high-dynamic-range situations, where you know things are fluctuating, and just shoot manual for the best of both worlds. Auto exposure is the worst for getting good, smooth shots. (At least that's what I've been hearing.)

Reactions: Citizen Flier