DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flyaway with Flight Log/PLEASE HELP

Scott Pollock

Reactions
I unfortunately lost my drone to the ocean while visiting the Algarve in Portugal a few days ago after only having it for a few days.
I was wondering if someone could have a look at my flight record below and let me know if this was all user error?
At one point it said to return to home so I accepted and swiped to do so and then 5 seconds later it told me it was landing. I tried and tried to get it to the nearest cliff but it just didnt make it :(

Thanks in advance.

Scott

I'm not an expert in reading logs, but even I am able to see multiple mistakes that you made during the flight.

It looks like you took off and flew over the ocean without a full battery. That's already never a good idea to begin with.

It also looks like you were flying almost 800 feet up in the air. The winds at altitude can often be quite stronger than the winds on the ground, and according to the logs your drone was struggling with high winds the entire time. (additionally, the regulations in most countries limit you legally to 400 feet maximum. Something you should always keep in mind because air traffic is often at 500 feet and above, and can be even lower over bodies of water or other sparsely populated places)

You also continued flying at a considerable distance even though your battery was getting quite low. At 3:24, you had a warning that the battery only was enough to return home. However you didn't initiate a return to home for almost 2 minutes after that.

Basically you were flying too high and too far away for the little amount of battery you had. The drone's RTH algorithms aren't aware of wind conditions so they have no way of knowing that the RTH will take even longer than predicted.

More like blown away.