DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

GPS loss

dennyc39

Reactions
New pilot, no experience (yet).

I understand that if the drone is not happy with GPS signal, it goes into ATTI mode, and will drift with the wind.

1. Can it still stabilize altitude if within range of the ground sensors?
2. Is there any way to tell which way it is pointing besides the lights? Does the remote have a heading display?
3. If the pilot then climbs it to say 150 ft to clear obstacles, does it stop climbing when stick is centered, or does it keep drifting up due to lack of altitude awareness?
4. does the yaw stop when sticks are centered, or does it also drift in yaw?

I have no experience yet, but it seems the ATTI mode compromise is actually an emergency of some magnitude, since there seems to be no way to practice handling and control in ATTI mode, and presumably no way to return to a more benign flight mode.

I understand that if the drone is not happy with GPS signal, it goes into ATTI mode, and will drift with the wind.

2. Is there any way to tell which way it is pointing besides the lights? Does the remote have a heading display?
3. If the pilot then climbs it to say 150 ft to clear obstacles, does it stop climbing when stick is centered, or does it keep drifting up due to lack of altitude awareness?

I have no experience yet, but it seems the ATTI mode compromise is actually an emergency of some magnitude, since there seems to be no way to practice handling and control in ATTI mode, and presumably no way to return to a more benign flight mode.