GPS Signal on iPad Not Being Recognized?

Discussion in 'Mavic Air' started by Ray&Paula, Aug 12, 2018 at 12:03 PM.

  1. Ray&Paula

    Ray&Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Clio, MI
    I recently purchased the new iPad 9.7 with cellular to use with my MA. I want to use the Return to Remote location as it's HP. I'm receiving the following popup in the DJI Go 4 app; "Mobile device GPS signal is weak, it's location cannot be acquired." I'm out in a field away from any type of interferences such as metal, concrete, towns, etc. I have 16 satellites w/ wifi at 2.4. If anybody has any suggestions to correct this problem, I would sincerely appreciate it. Thanks, Ray
     
    #1 Ray&Paula, Aug 12, 2018 at 12:03 PM
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2018 at 12:29 PM
  2. Exphantomflyer

    Exphantomflyer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Manchester UK

    Might be related, I had the same issue with a Mavic Pro, using a Nexus 7 tablet, I could lock sats ok (checked with an app) but when i load the go 4 app all sats stopped being detected,

    Download an app on your ipad that shows connected satellites, its nothing to do with the GPS in the quad, and see what it shows, you could have a faulty IOS devices or an issue with the app itself
     
  3. Keule

    Keule Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    324
    Location:
    48°18'25"N 11°52'10"E
  4. Ray&Paula

    Ray&Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Clio, MI
    Thanks for the reply...... I have 16 satellites showing in the DJI Go 4 app. Thanks again, Ray
     
  5. InvisibleName

    InvisibleName Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    The 16 satellites Go reports are those seen by the drone, not what your iPad is seeing. There are a lot complaining of your issue
     
    Kilrah likes this.
  6. Ray&Paula

    Ray&Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Clio, MI
    That makes sense...... I certainly don't understand what the problem could be. Hopefully, someone here has come up with a resolution. Having the GPS capability is the main reason I bought this new iPad. I normally use my iPad Air 2 without cellular. I definitely won't be taking the MA out on the boat until this gets resolved. Thanks again for your input. Ray
     
  7. InvisibleName

    InvisibleName Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    Probably a good idea!
     
  8. Keule

    Keule Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    324
    Location:
    48°18'25"N 11°52'10"E
    What is your iPad accuracy? Have you tested it already?
     
  9. Ray&Paula

    Ray&Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Clio, MI
    I downloaded the following app (Link Below) called UAV Forecast to the iPad. With nothing connected, it shows 14 visible satellites with 13.4 locked. To my understanding, a data plan "is not" needed for using a GPS device for the DJI Go 4 app therefore, I simply can't understand what the hiccup could be. Maybe it's a setting I'm missing somewhere either on the iPad and/or DJI Go 4...........
    ‎UAV Forecast on the App Store
     
  10. Keule

    Keule Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    324
    Location:
    48°18'25"N 11°52'10"E
    Yes, that is correct.

    The root cause is within the iPad. How does the iPad GPS receiver 'sees' the satellites.
    No matter what external apps reporting (such as UAV forecast) or what the drone sees (i.e. number of GPS sats) the iPad must have an accuracy of less than 10m that the dynamic homepoint function works.

    Try the app i linked in thread #3:
    While the app is active, you'll see your current location and your accuracy.

    Look at the screenshots below:

    Bad.jpg good.jpg
     
    Exphantomflyer likes this.
  11. Ray&Paula

    Ray&Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Clio, MI
    I will download the app but, if it shows more than 10m........ What's the solution? Is there one? I just went out and tried it again and I was able to set Return to remote approx. one out of ten times. I tried disconnecting/reconnecting, switching off/on, Unplugging/replugging, etc. Right now it's very sporadic. I'll download the app and report back. Thanks for taking the time in helping me out. Ray
     
  12. Ray&Paula

    Ray&Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Clio, MI
    All looks good.......


    GPS Signal.jpg
     
    Keule likes this.
  13. Keule

    Keule Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    324
    Location:
    48°18'25"N 11°52'10"E
    In my experience, there are two:

    1) You can get another, external GPS receiver, such as Garmin GLO, connect via Bluetooth to your iPad.
    With this setup, you receive an accuracy always better than 5m.
    2) Use Autopilot to fly your drone. No worries, you must not setup waypoints or other tricky stuff.
    There is a flight mode called 'Black Box' in which you can fly your drone as usual with the sticks.
    (There is a different UI, but you get used to it.)

    But here it comes: Autopilot has an option called 'moving operator'. Prior launch, you have to select a 'stationary operator' or 'moving operator'. When the Moving Operator option is selected, Autopilot updates automatically every second the position of the iPad via the remote control to the drone. That means, every second the aircraft has new RTH coordinates.
    So, the pilot must not press any button now and then (such as in GO4), just fly. In case RTH is triggered, the aircraft returns to the 'moving' remote control.

    That feature is very useful on a boat ... ;-)
     
  14. Ray&Paula

    Ray&Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Clio, MI
    Sounds interesting..........
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - GPS Signal iPad Forum Date
Weak Mobile Device GPS signal error Mavic Air Help Jun 19, 2018
The science behind GPS and WiFi signal Mavic Air Help May 23, 2018
GPS signal changes Mavic Air Mar 17, 2018
gps weak signal Mavic Pro Help Mar 4, 2018
Any advices to film at Waterfalls without GPS signal Mavic Air Help Feb 27, 2018