DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Hello from Idaho

Spud

Reactions
I have decided to place an order for a Mavic Pro drone. :) However, I don't own either a tablet, or a smart cellular phone. I have always used a basic cell phone, and I don't want to switch. ;)Therefore, I am considering buying an iPhone 5s, and dedicating this phone for my Mavic Pro controller. I do not plan to connect to a cell phone network.

Will this phone work well with DJI Go and Litchi? Do I need to get an unlocked, or prepaid telephone? I am new to both drones and smart cell phones, so I would appreciate any advice you might offer.

Last edited:
Reactions: dirkclod
Welcome to Mavic Pilots! :)

You do not need an unlocked/prepaid phone. The iPhone 5s is on the low end for Apple devices performance-wise, but it's still one of the phones DJI recommends/supports.

If you're interested in seeing other recommended and commonly used mobile devices, I keep a list here.

Reactions: Spud
Welcome to Mavic Pilots .
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching .Thumbswayup

Gentlemen, thank you for the kind welcomes. I ride my dirt bike into the mountains, and I also take adventure rides on my motorcycle. I decided to get the Mavic Pro because it is compact, and I think it will perform better in high winds at higher altitudes than the DJI spark. I plan to purchase a refurbished Mavic Pro. and I plan to dedicate either a cell phone or tablet to interface with the Mavic Pro controller. Please do make recommendations for the best cell phone/tablet which will work well in direct sunlight, and which will not become obsolete too quickly.

You do not need an unlocked/prepaid phone. The iPhone 5s is on the low end for Apple devices performance-wise, but it's still one of the phones DJI recommends/supports.