DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Hello from the Great Smoky Mountains (East Tennessee)

TnDronePilot

Reactions
Glad to be in da club. I'm new to the drone world but have been a fan for years. I used to fly an RC helicopter. Wait a minute! I have to be truthful. I flew my RC helicopter for about 30 seconds before I buried it into the ground. Let me explain.

This was one of those single rotor-bladed models that cost over $1000. It was the T-Rex 300 or something similar. I initially bought the training software with the dummy box and was a freaking pro with every model within 2 months. Then I went out with my best friend and my wife to the local soccer field and got my helicopter up and hovering which by the way, isn't easy compared to these easy-mode drones. Anyway, I had that puppy hovering awesome until a slight wind started to push the heli a little to the left. I started to freak out a little and it didn't help that my hands were shaking faster than a wet dog fresh out of a frozen lake.

Before I knew it, the heli drifted over my left shoulder and then behind my back where it proceeded to nosedive straight into the ground. Then I heard the dreaded words " I told you you were gonna crash that thing." You know, in that annoying naggy voice? Ughhhh. I hate when she's right. After I did the walk of shame to pick up the pieces, I decided to sell it on Ebay and took an early retirement from the hobby. I did do some NTSB-style internal investigation on my fatal flight and realized that I didn't turn my head and body to keep it from smashing 0 feet AGL at 40mph. It was totally the software's fault because the camera in the simulator moved automatically so I never learned to turn my own **** head. I'd sue but I think I'm past the statue of limitations.