Get more from your Mavic
The largest Mavic community in the world
Join Us Now

Help! Forgot to press RECORD!

Hauptmann

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2017
Messages
2,082
Reactions
8,713
Age
52
Location
North Texas
We shot an important video earlier this week, but forgot to press record. Any chance of the "footage" being in the Mavic's cache memory? If so, how can it be retrieved?
 

Simmo

Learning every day!!
Premium Pilot
Joined
Nov 2, 2017
Messages
2,352
Reactions
1,501
Age
55
Location
FNQ Australia
Its really one of those features tha DJI should incorporate really eh? I mean Litchi does it with the same SDK? Why cant Go4 do it, and we have the option to turn it off!!
 
  • Like
Reactions: CamoGreg

jason38

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2017
Messages
223
Reactions
159
Location
Isere, France
If you turn "cache locally " option on in the app, it will record on your device what you're recording with the drone.
If you dont hit the record button, there will not be any cache recording anywhere...

If it were caching all flight lenght on your mobile device, I guess you'll not be able to cache record more than a few flights before device's memory comes full.

BTW, if it was goin this way, I think that the record button would be useless at all, because you'll only have to go watch your whole flight from the cached video and edit it from there...
And a micro SD slot in the drone would be useless as well...

I already did that mistake, thinking that I was shooting a great video...but didnt hit that record button before ....
Si I just cried about that missed shoot I'll never be able to shoot it anymore...
That's life, our brain can do mistakes! ;)
 

jason38

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2017
Messages
223
Reactions
159
Location
Isere, France
Yes, this is incredible...
The other day, I was shooting a very Nice travelling over a paraglider taking off just on top of a very big Cliff, with sunset.... I was telling myself "woaaah this video will be f..ing awesome!!".
I filmed all that scene, And then, hit the record button to stop recording... But at this moment, I realized that I just started filming...
I spent an hour telling me I was an idiot, and that I will never do this mistake again in my life...
...it happens again two dans ago... :( :(
 

Mossiback

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2017
Messages
4,022
Reactions
3,092
Age
66
Location
Brier, WA USA
After I made the same mistake, I now look at the counter under the record button to ensure that it is recording.
 
  • Like
Reactions: bobj151

Kaboche

Member
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
9
Reactions
5
Age
35
Mrreddog, I was doing the same but I noticed that if you check the box for precision landing and you start filming before it reach 6 meters, it will stop your recording to take a photo for the precision landing.
 
  • Like
Reactions: rydfree

Simmo

Learning every day!!
Premium Pilot
Joined
Nov 2, 2017
Messages
2,352
Reactions
1,501
Age
55
Location
FNQ Australia
Mrreddog, I was doing the same but I noticed that if you check the box for precision landing and you start filming before it reach 6 meters, it will stop your recording to take a photo for the precision landing.
Really? I didnt know that??! Does it start recording again?
 

Hauptmann

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2017
Messages
2,082
Reactions
8,713
Age
52
Location
North Texas
Well, Krap! It was a gorgeous morning near the waterfront in the SF Financial district, flying between the buildings, and over top of the short ones.

Oh well, we got some other good footage you probably wouldn't expect. I'll post the vid after we finish post-production.
 
  • Like
Reactions: krobert291

Kaboche

Member
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
9
Reactions
5
Age
35
Really? I didnt know that??! Does it start recording again?
Nope.
I think that's what happened because I was almost sure I pressed the record button but at the end of the flight I pressed the record button to stop the video but I saw it started recording.

And I had a video of the take off of a few second and that's it.
I'll have to test that out again but now I wait for the takeoff in the green bar in the top left corner on the cellphone to go away.
 

UAVNV

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2017
Messages
235
Reactions
146
Age
44
sorry to hear, been there.. try litchi auto record on takeoff for a failsafe
 

Qoncussion

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2017
Messages
1,901
Reactions
1,726
Age
55
Location
California
Mrreddog, I was doing the same but I noticed that if you check the box for precision landing and you start filming before it reach 6 meters, it will stop your recording to take a photo for the precision landing.
Really? I didnt know that??! Does it start recording again?
Actually, the precision landing image is captured using the bottom sensors, not the main FPV camera. There was some talk about how it works here on the forums when the Mavic was new. You can start recording before takeoff, and your video should record continuously, long after leaving the ground. The precision landing feature does not interfere with the FPV camera.
 
  • Like
Reactions: WAXMAN and Simmo

BrAinZ

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2016
Messages
72
Reactions
27
Age
56
I’m normally pretty good at pressing Record when I first take off, what normally catches me out is when I stop to take still photos. I tend to hold steady while taking a few bracketed shots, handy for HDR photos, but of course, it’s then too easy to forget to press Record again when you move off :(
Wish the software would let you take photos while still videoing, or could auto resume video recording.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mfc

Forum statistics

Threads
103,893
Messages
1,203,655
Members
132,584
Latest member
Jade Nguyen