DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Help understanding my first crash (at night)

Giladwashere

Reactions
Hello,
I'm a novice pilot. Been enjoying my Mavic pro for about 3 months now without a problem (as well as this very useful forum).
I have one reoccurring is that I would like to get help with:
I live in a large apartment building, with an inner court yard. I'll describe it as I think it may be relevant.
It's about 120 feet / 40 meters high, and shaped like a circle. The diameter of said circle is approx. 30 feet / 10 meters. I have been trying to take off from the middle of this inner court yard.
That's when things started getting weird.
For the first and only time in my life, as I'm taking off - I get notified that I can't fly higher than 5 meters. The drone would simply not get higher. It said to check setting which I did, and there wasn't any height limit, no beginner more, nothing of that sort. Everything was fully charged as well. I even re-calibrated the thing and tried again the next day from the same location and same thing happened, which leads me to believe it's because of the spot I was standing in.
I'm not so well versed in the technology behind the drone. Could the high walls surrounding me with only about 5 meters to each side have been the reason the drone would not get any higher? If not, any ideas what might have caused it?