Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!

Hesitant to fly in Florida

Phochief

Reaction score
I live in Port St. Lucie Florida and am considering buying a Mavic 2 drone, but after days of reading about all of the FL restrictions and possibly opening myself up to privacy lawsuits, and lack of places to fly has prevented me from taking the plunge. I’m a Nature and Landscape photographer (retired photojournalist), and would only be flying and photographing as a hobbiest. I understand the FAA rules and would abide by them, but it’s the FL laws, county and city ordinances that worry me. I’m retired and don’t want to constantly worry about lawsuits, or that an LEO will charge me with some drone crime.
Am I worrying too much? Are any Florida drone pilots running into problems?
Some advice from Florida hobby drone pilots would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you
David

Shakes1118

Reaction score
David,
I am in Port Saint Lucie too. I just passed the 107 knowledge test the other day after about two hours of studying. I have been flying drones for about six years, since my father and I started building Arduino quadcopters.

Here's my two cents on Florida laws:
Know where you are flying and what the law says.

934.50 - Freedom from Unwarranted Surveillance Act - Effective July 1, 2015
Basically you cannot use a drone to photograph or record individuals with a reasonable expectation of privacy, or of private property without consent. It also places limits on law enforcement use of drones

"A person, a state agency, or a political subdivision as defined in s. 11.45 may not use a drone equipped with an imaging device to record an image of privately owned real property or of the owner, tenant, occupant, invitee, or licensee of such property with the intent to conduct surveillance on the individual or property captured in the image in violation of such person’s reasonable expectation of privacy without his or her written consent.”