Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

Is it safe to use Waypoint 2.0 when you loose signal with your Mavic 2?

thesotman

Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
2
Hi,
I want to use Waypoints to set a path where I might lose signal of the drone.
I set it to return home once all waypoints are completed.

Is there a danger my drone will get lost?

Thanks.
 

parkgt

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2018
Messages
499
Reaction score
314
If Home point is confirmed at TO, it is not likely to get lost.
 

parkgt

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2018
Messages
499
Reaction score
314
Why not set a last WP somewhere above TO point?
 

dkuhne

Active Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2018
Messages
29
Reaction score
16
Age
32
In waypoints 2, you can determine what happens if/when signal is lost. I think the two options are 'continue on route' and 'RTH', there might even be a 'pause' option (Although I can't see why you'd want to do that)
 

thesotman

Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
2
After I finished setting waypoints I set it to "when signal is lost to continue, but when it completed the route it did not return home. It hovered at the last waypoint and I had to bring it to the landing pad manually.
 

DanMan32

Well-Known Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 1, 2018
Messages
4,892
Reaction score
1,721
Age
53
You have to set your waypoint mission on what to do once it completes its mission. RTH is one option, staying where it is is another.
 

dkuhne

Active Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2018
Messages
29
Reaction score
16
Age
32
After I finished setting waypoints I set it to "when signal is lost to continue, but when it completed the route it did not return home. It hovered at the last waypoint and I had to bring it to the landing pad manually.
I think you may be confusing 'When way points has finished' and 'when signal has been lost'. Their are seperate options for each.

Sounds, like you want the drone to RTH when the waypoints is finished - There is an option to do this, on the final confirm screen
 

apeel

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2019
Messages
76
Reaction score
40
Age
68
Location
San Antonio, TX
I noticed that a number of YouTube tutorials on Waypoints 2.0 seem to suggest that you set the action to "Continue" if you lose connectivity. Seems awfully risky to me!! I only tried Waypoints 2.0 once and set it to RTH on loss of signal. Did not matter in my case since I did not lose signal. Am I being overly cautious to set it to RTH instead of Continue on signal loss? Thoughts?
 

parkgt

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2018
Messages
499
Reaction score
314
"Continue" with a final Waypoint above TO point is the way I would go. Using any Mission type software that puts the drone very far away I always like to have one or more waypoints that brings it back to somewhere close to where I am.
 

dkuhne

Active Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2018
Messages
29
Reaction score
16
Age
32
I noticed that a number of YouTube tutorials on Waypoints 2.0 seem to suggest that you set the action to "Continue" if you lose connectivity. Seems awfully risky to me!! I only tried Waypoints 2.0 once and set it to RTH on loss of signal. Did not matter in my case since I did not lose signal. Am I being overly cautious to set it to RTH instead of Continue on signal loss? Thoughts?
I think 'continue' or 'RTH' are fine if you loose signal. The option you dont want is 'Pause', because the drone will just stay in the destination you don't have signal!

It really depends on if the waypoint is closer to you, or further away etc.

It's almost a mute point, as the signal on the Mavic 2 is incredible. I've been in my car, 2K from my drone, and still had 4 bars in the past. Aslong as you have line of sight, you should have signal.
 
  • Like
Reactions: apeel

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
73,149
Messages
847,315
Members
100,282
Latest member
ando243