DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Lost connection

outbackpaul

Reactions
Hey, I'm new to the drone scene. On my 2nd day of flying the Mavic I lost connection with it. Actually, I was letting someone else fly it. I was quite surprised that it lost connection since it was only about a mile away. I have really lost confidence in flying it since this has happened.

I really don't know when it lost connection. I only noticed it after I have been trying to get it to RTH and it wouldn't. The mavic ended up trying to land in a tobacco field way down the road. A friend ended up going down the road and finding it hovering above the tobacco trying to land.

Here is the link to that scary flight.

Airdata UAV - Flight Data Analysis for Drones

I haven't had an issue since that I knew of until I created my airdata account yesterday and uploaded all of my logs and I see this... The first link is of a flight that had good connection... the second link is of one that had very poor signal.. same day, time, and location.

What do y'all think the problem is?

I'm no expert in reading flight data, but according to the analysis you lost connection at 800+ feet. Is that correct?

Please upload your TXT flight log here and post a link back here. You'll find instructions for locating your TXT flight log at that link.

I'm no expert in reading flight data, but according to the analysis you lost connection at 800+ feet. Is that correct?

I did and I know that was bad. I had converted feet to meters wrong in my max altitude setting. I've fixed that now.

Did you look at the other two flights?

I did and I know that was bad. I had converted feet to meters wrong in my max altitude setting. I've fixed that now.

Did you look at the other two flights?
No worries...I'm not the "drone police". Anxious to see what @msinger finds

Here's the flight path your Mavic should have followed when it was returning to the home point (the yellow line):