DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Lost mini in wind - 100% my fault!!

Buel

Reactions
Hi all,

Last Sunday I used my drone to take a lovely pic of my daughters and I outside our house. It was very windy that day but, stupid old me, decided to gain some altitude and try to take a better pic. Long story cut short, I lost signal and never regained it.
I have attached below a screenshot of my phone showing the last recorded location. I walked there and gave it a **** good search but couldn't see it. I was hoping for some help on here but have just seen a similar thread where someone got the data of the flight? Please can I have a hand finding that?

Because I'm a newbie, I turned the handset off and back on hoping to 're-establish' connection when I arrived at the site but couldn't pick it up and was asking me to do the start up of turning the drone around 360 degrees, etc.
Oh and I see my RTH was set at 15m.

Please can I ask for some help here (even if I don't deserve it).
I guess my questions are:
1. How do I get the relevant data?
2. Was turning the handset off a big mistake?

(sorry for this)

Attachments

• thumbnail_IMG_0057.png
    thumbnail_IMG_0057.png
    5 MB · Views: 88
1. How do I get the relevant data?
To get the flight data ..
Go to DJI Flight Log Viewer | Phantom Help
Follow the instructions there to upload your flight record from your phone or tablet.
That will give you a detailed report on the flight data.
Come back and post a link to the report it provides.
Or just post the .txt file here.

>>>2. Was turning the handset off a big mistake?
Turning off the controller would only force RTH (if it hadn't already been initiated).
So that shouldn't have been a problem

You mentioned that when you turned the controller on, you had a message asking to recalibrate the compass.
That is very unusual and wouldn't be expected if the drone was in flight.