DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic air 2 crash in seA

newasusi

Reactions
Hello guys, I had bought mavic air 2 in December 2020 and i am learning to fly. Yesterday i tried to fly it over sea and i was in tripod mode. As i sometimes gets confused with the keys, i was at abit lower height so i tried to press upward insted i was pressing down and it got crashed into sea. I thought sensor would work but it didnt and i lost my drone ?. Sadly i dont have any insurance. So is there anything i can do...i bought mavic air 2 only becuase it had good sensor and if not would have gone for mini one. Your suggestions will be highly appreciated. Thanks

Sorry for your loss. I am an experienced R/C pilot of over 40 years, been doing the drone thing since they came out.... all of that and I STILL get a bit nervous flying over water. It is always a risk. I did lose my first drone a couple years ago skimming 2 feet above a roaring river and flew sideways into a tree sticking up out of the high flowing river.

It happens, it sucks, but it happens.

Not much help, only condolences :-(

Welcome to the Forum sorry about the Air 2 sinking.

Dont feel to bad your one of many that have lost there drone in the Water and even if you did have Insurance, there is nothing it would pay for as the DJI refresh plan states you have to be able to send the drone back to them.

This is why loosing your drone in the water is the single worst thing that can happen when flying a drone and why
we recommend Rescue Jackets for protection.

Phantomrain.org
Gear to fly your Air 2 in the Rain and Land on Water.