DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Pro 2 Almost Disaster with Latest FW

Tommygun45

Reactions
I have been flying drones for about 5 years now. I do it professionally for real estate. I have flown thousands of times. This has never happened so I figured I would share what are likely my mistakes with others, but also ask what I should do in the future should it happen again.

I have MP2 with the Smart Controller. Today I decided to update everything because I finally had some down time. Fly Safe Database, firmware, everything all to the latest versions. I took off and took some standard footage of a house. Conditions were moderately windy, but nothing out of the ordinary. I have had the Mavic and the Controller disconnect their Occusync connection in the past. The drone would enter a hover mode, and I could move towards the drone, relaunch the App, and it has reconnected for me. I also maintained control of the drone while it hovered, even without the Occusync connection. This however was somewhat different.

Today after taking some standard footage I decided to use the Point of Interest feature to get a nice pan of the front of a house. The drone was about 20 seconds into the maneuver at 8.9 mph and recording when suddenly the signal dropped from my controller. It gave me the option to have the drone return to home, or not. This is where I think I made my mistake. I chose not to have it automatically return to home because I could see the drone in the air about 200 feet away from me. I still had control of it with the sticks and as I started to move the sticks I could see it was responding. The problem was that when I declined to return to home the drone kept flying in the Point of Interest pattern.