DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mike from Modesto, California

MavicAirMike

Reactions
I'm brand new to DJI and Camera drones. I've had a $100 toy quad that I've messed around with, but nothing compared to the Mavic Air. I've wanted to purchase my own DJI since the Mavic Pro came out and since I am only using it for recreation ... I had to do a lot of soul searching, justifying the expense to my wife vs. the benefits it would bring to my life.

I'm an out of shape, 56 year old male that works 9-6 full time and love the outdoors, but don't get out as much as I did when I was younger. I'm just an hour from the Sierra Mountains and two hours from the beach and regulations in California are still fairly easy going on drone users. The Governor almost signed a bill that passed, that would mandate when flying over private property, that the pilot must maintain a altitude of over 350 feet, but luckily, he listened to reason and did not sign this into law. Some State parks (run by districts) have bans, but most do not.

So, I told my wife, this would be a great reason to get out of the house more. I can take drives up to the foothills or the National Forest and hike around, get some fly time and get some exercise. So far, so good. My next trip is on Tuesday/Wednesday ... going to the Coast for some R&R and hopefully some drone time, wind conditions permitting.

I want to be a responsible, lawful pilot and safety is of the upmost importance to me. I've even done the smart thing, by joining this fantastic forum to stay connected to like minded people.

If you live near me and want to fly with me, I would be happy to discuss this. I've very social (I'm a salesman, I have to be) and respectful of others. I've posted a couple of videos online, but I've not used any editing software yet. I have a lot to learn, and I'm excited to get to it.

Hello,
It is a pleasure to welcome you to the Mavic Pilots forum.