DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

My close encounter

Chillz_Vibez

Reactions
Hey guys, this is my first post on this website as I only had my mavic for 2 weeks. But I'm glad to be here and would like open an interesting discussion based on my recent encounter. Let me start by saying that I'm a current aviation safety student with a uas minor. Next year I'd be seeking to work as an ATC. Therefore, I think im fairly familiar with NAS operations and uas operation regulations. However, what happened to me was definitely a first, One moggy morning I woke up quite early to drive my friend to the airport. On the drive up the visibility was awful (prob around 100 feet.) However on my way back it had improved drastically to where i could easily see a mile down the road. I was passing by some swampy area and decided to set up my Mavic to go right about 350ft and take some cinematic photos of the still low cloud ceiling of about (700 ft agl. pressure 30.06 inhg. temp 66F and dew 60F. time:10:20 AM local) my nearest airport was class D about 7miles NE of me so I didn't bother calling as I was also in class G surfce-1,200 feet. nevertheless i checked my METAR, my air map, and my flight radar to confirm it was safe and the only airplane overhead was at 4000 ft msl passing overhead. so all systems were go. After takeoff i just went straight up to 350 feet. I hovered for around 30 s. so i can scan the area and adjust my camera. When all the sudden a crop dusting single engine just speeds over some trees and begins to turn left and heads right under my mavic maybe at 250-300 feet about 100 years in front of me so well within line of sight. After calling few people i received three different answer of who was at fault. first i called my friend who was ironically working his atc shift at the class d airport mentioned above. He said it would have been purely my fault. Second i got in my car and went to a small uncontrolled airport