DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

My first take off from hood - lost control and crashed

HenriC

Reactions
It's my first time tried to take off from hood of my Toyota 4runner, after take off my remote controller can't work properly and few seconds later it crashed , as below video.

I'm curious what cause this accident, the sheet metal material or the generator under the hood effect the compass of drone?

Eventually, I thought my Mavic Pro won't work anymore, especially the first part bump the ground is the camera. After check the donre, the appearance no obvious damage and re-start the Mavic Pro the self-check is ok, I can keep my video shooting contiuiously.

I have to say, it's quite rugged.

Reactions: Shaggy505
From looking at the video, that looks exactly like what happens when there is a compass or IMU calibration error. Mine did that once when I took off in a parking lot from the ground (concrete) that had lots of metal rebar just under the surface, and I had to make an immediate forced landing (no damage Thank God).

Don't do a recalibration of any kind when near metal - especially on the hood or roof of a car. Don't launch from on top of a car. I always check that my compass and IMU are both in the GREEN before I launch, especially if I'm launching from a new location. Having said that, I've only had to recalibrate my compass and IMU once in 9 months.

Also, I always hand launch and hand catch, so I don't have to worry about being close to metal of any kind, or about dust or dirt getting into the air intake on the front, or into the motors.

Glad to hear there was no damage. Thanks for sharing the video.

Reactions: HenriC
The Mavic cannot reliably detect a compass error while on the ground. Detection will only work reliably while airborne (e.g. if the compass indicates a very different direction than GPS track) and that might be already too late.