DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New from downstate Illinois

tbk

Reactions
Hi all,
I'm new to drones but not new to flying, until I had to give up my medical a few years ago. I've always thought drones were kinda a neat "toy" but what would I ever do with one? Well, a friend started me down the rabbit hole a couple weeks ago and after a few rounds of "for only another hundred more, I could get <blank>" the next thing I knew, I was clicking on "buy" for a new Mavic Air Fly More. Man, was I ever wrong about drones.... This thing is a blast.

I've had it out a couple times last weekend, but it's still getting dark too early after work, and its been raining buckets anyway. But I hope to get it out again this weekend maybe.

So, my question is, what apps do you all consider "essential"? Weather? Airspace? (I live about 8 miles from a Class C airport, and multiple heliports scattered around -- at least three hospitals in a 10 mile radius).... Fill me in on what you use... just reading app store reviews, its like everything in life these days I guess.. Half the reviews for every app say "this app is the greatest thing since sliced bread" and the other half claim it's junk of the worst caliber.

Reactions: dirkclod
Hello,
It is a pleasure to welcome you to the Mavic Pilots forum.
I hope that you will be able to use the forum to further your safety knowledge and for the exchange of innovative ideas and as a resource for current developments in Mavic quadcopters.
Enjoy! Thumbswayup
*MAVIC PRO MANUAL: https://dl.djicdn.com/downloads/mavic/20171219/Mavic Pro User Manual V2.0.pdf
*MAVIC PRO PLATINUM MANUAL: https://dl.djicdn.com/downloads/mavic/20171123/Mavic_Pro_User_Manual V1.8.pdf
*MAVIC AIR MANUAL: https://dl.djicdn.com/downloads/Mavic+Air/20180213/Mavic+Air+User+Manual+v1.2.pdf
*GO 4 APP MANUAL: DJI Go 4 Manual

Welcome to Mavic Pilots! :)

what apps do you all consider "essential"? Weather? Airspace?