DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New software grounds missions - heads up

MavicPro2Ed

Reactions
I downloaded new software yesterday in my Mavic 2 Pro - now I can no longer fly missions that I have been flying for 2 months - heads up!! Apparently the Flysafe team decided to not let existing missions fly if they are near an airport. In my case I was preauthorized thru LAANC to fly today at a commercial construction site that is a few miles from an airport - but the new software would not let the Drone fly - an error message indicated that the DJI software detected this to be an area where flight was normally restricted. Calling support did not help from my mission location - they actually suggested I google the problem! I hope DJI fixes this mess before a lot of professional Drone pilots get their missions grounded. Apparently there is some kind of bandaid available off the Flysafe portion of the DJI website but I was told this could not be applied from the mission location since I did not have my office pc with me - I was told by support to drive back to the office and figure it out - by then my one hour approved window had closed and I could not fly my approved mission today! Have others seen this? So Frustrating!

I usually practice in the RC field close to a small airport, I can no longer fly there, the geo system prevents me to take off, this happens just because of the new app update, I understand it is not the same problem you have but the restrictions are there even when I could fly at that location 5 minutes before I updated the app.