Get more from your Mavic
The largest Mavic community in the world
Join Us Now

Newest homemade landing pad.

putz

Reactions
Visit site
I've made several of these at work, however this is my first attempt at something more portable. I know that there are lighter options, some guys use floor mats, some hand launch/recover, some ever use a river, tree or tall building. I prefer this 3/4" plastic because it will not blow away, keeps the drone off of wet ground and helps to level out uneven terrain. My problem though was that a 24" pad was awkward to carry long distance. So I came up with this. The circle is 16" and I use it on calm days. The green extention ring makes it a 24" pad and is used on windy days. The nice thing about it, is it fits in a backpack with my other gear. 20191017_234903.jpeg 20191017_235014.jpeg 20191017_234837.jpeg

jspil

Reactions
Visit site
This is my homemade landing pad I made from a piece of half inch thick pine board. I covered the top with commercial roofing membrane, and the bottom with reinforced rubber flashing cover. Its definitely not as portable as yours, but it gets the job done. Its heavy enough to flatten any tall grass and never blows away.
I've made several of these at work, however this is my first attempt at something more portable. I know that there are lighter options, some guys use floor mats, some hand launch/recover, some ever use a river, tree or tall building. I prefer this 3/4" plastic because it will not blow away, keeps the drone off of wet ground and helps to level out uneven terrain. My problem though was that a 24" pad was awkward to carry long distance. So I came up with this. The circle is 16" and I use it on calm days. The green extention ring makes it a 24" pad and is used on windy days. The nice thing about it, is it fits in a backpack with my other gear. View attachment 83784 View attachment 83785 View attachment 83786
20191020_094032.jpeg 20191020_094024.jpeg 20191020_094015.jpeg

unionglzr

Reactions