DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Phone and controller

BillC

Reactions
I am new to all this and before I purchase a drone copter I want to be sure I have the proper phone for the controller.
Does the phone or viewing device have to be set up to send/receive data or does it act as a monitor to see what is happening?
Am trying to figure out if iPad will work , the iPad I have is wi-fi only and I don't want to set up my phone as a hot spot if it isn't necessary. I understand that maps need to be connected with data.
Thanks,
BC

The phone acts as a moniter but its also responsible for any settings that need to be changed and its how you access the intelligent flight modes, you'd still need a fairly current phone to avoid glitching or lag in the display. Not sure about the ipads though since i use android.. Im sure someone on here can give you a bit more insight

The phone acts as a moniter but its also responsible for any settings that need to be changed and its how you access the intelligent flight modes, you'd still need a fairly current phone to avoid glitching or lag in the display. Not sure about the ipads though since i use android.. Im sure someone on here can give you a bit more insight
Thanks for the quick reply.
So , if the phone is tethered to the controller it should work without an internet connection , correct ?

Thanks for the quick reply.
So , if the phone is tethered to the controller it should work without an internet connection , correct ?
Yes you can fly without an internet connection. The ipad (standard iPad) is not compatible. Here is a list of compatible iOs devices