DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Processing Software

Cjcoolcat

Reactions
Hi

Interested to know what processing software you use for video and photo ?

I have Adobe Lightroom. I am a photographer so this and Adobe Photoshop are used for that.

I haven’t taken any video yet but wasn’t sure if you were able to process stills from video ?

For video, DaVinci Resolve R15 Public Beta - better than most paid solutions, word-class production-level grading, comes with DJI LUTs, and best of all nice and free !

The only caveat is you can't output 4K without buying the full program, which is only $300. But you can load 4k files and output to 1080, which is almost as good :)

Photos - I'm with you - Photoshop still wins that one for me...

Reactions: Cjcoolcat
Free version of Resolve 15 does output 4K. 14 didn't.
Been out of beta for quite a while too.

Oh, and I'll save you the first big stumbling block. As soon as you load the software, go into Master Project settings and change the frame rates in the 3 places there to match your source footage. Very important you do this BEFORE you import any media, otherwise you will get constant playback problems, and it will be impossible to get sound files to play properly.

Photoshop/Lightroom for photography (plus Quickshot -formerly Enlight- for quick'n'dirty editing on iOS devices)

Adobe Premiere for video editing

As with Photoshop, there will be a steep initial learning curve, but once you get over the hump it's pretty awesome! -To your initial question, yes you can harvest individual pictures from a video clip. If I remember correctly, you press shift and enter.

I would go to YouTube and wade through some of the training videos. It'll all sound like babble, but once you nail down some of the basics, the clouds will part.