DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Property surrveilance Drone

A.O.

Reactions
Ok, absolute beginner here looking for ideas. Looking for a drone that takes videos, not professional or anything, just kind of surveillance, but at a distance. I own 100 acres that's long and narrow, just about 3/4 of a mile long. So I'm looking for one that will go from one end to the other.
I was in best buy the other day and saw the Phantoms and the Mavic that said they had a range of 22,000 feet which is a bit over 4 miles, so plenty. Also saw they had obstacle avoidance and return to home feature. I'm thinking this would be good, maybe it would keep me from running into branches if I'm flying low. Yes??
I don't really know anything about these drones , do you think the Mavic pro fits the bill?

Also read somewhere on here to get a Eachine E010 Mini 2.4G 4CH 6 Axis Headless Mode RC Quadcopter RTF first to practice with... good advice I'm thinking, yes? Is there a different low cost trainer, or just start with a Mavic?

Reactions: deggers
just kind of surveillance
What are you planning on watching?

saw they had obstacle avoidance and return to home feature. I'm thinking this would be good, maybe it would keep me from running into branches if I'm flying low.
It's good for flying toward solid obstacles (like buildings), but not so good for small objects (like branches). It would be safest to fly above all obstacles in the flying area.

Is there a different low cost trainer, or just start with a Mavic?
Other drones do not fly like DJI drones, so you're not going to learn much about the Mavic by flying a low cost trainer. You'd be better off by flying a Mavic in a wide open area until you're comfortable flying it.

Reactions: A.O.
Hello

I think the Mavic would be a great buy for what you want to do!