DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Question about 400ft limit

htommy

Reactions
so im studying for part 107 and it says that if im inspecting a 1000ft tower i can legally fly 400 ft above and 400 ft horizontal of the structure,so how is this achieved with the Dji settings,ive been flying for almost a year but i haven’t had a desire to try and go any higher or break in laws,btw i live in Class D airspace but i was just curious how to go about this in the field

If you launch your Mavic near the base of the tower, you'll easily be able to achieve that altitude since the Mavic is able to fly up to 500 meters over top of the takeoff point. Set your max altitude to 500 meters in the following section of DJI GO:

DJI-GO-Max-Altitude.PNG

i was assuming it has a 400ft limit,like i said i haven’t messed with the max altitude setting,thanks for the reply

i was assuming it has a 400ft limit,like i said i haven’t messed with the max altitude setting,thanks for the reply
The default setting is 400 feet.

Reactions: htommy
Something to be aware of for Part 107: If the tower is 1000-ft and the lowest layer of broken or overcast clouds is 1500-ft, you will not be allowed to fly any higher than 1000-ft within a 400-ft radius of the tower. That means that you can't fly above the upper extent of the tower. Remember, you must fly no higher than 500 below the cloud ceiling at all times!

Something to be aware of for Part 107: If the tower is 1000-ft and the lowest layer of broken or overcast clouds is 1500-ft, you will not be allowed to fly any higher than 1000-ft within a 400-ft radius of the tower. That means that you can't fly above the upper extent of the tower. Remember, you must fly no higher than 500 below the cloud ceiling at all times!

yes sir i have the study course from Drone Tribe its pretty thorough

thanks

Is that free? Is it good?