DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Question re Minis and RID

Dbez1

107 Pilot
Premium Pilot
Reactions
I’m a 107 Pilot flying an Air2S, so this question doesn’t have any real impact on me, but after September, do recreational pilots of UA under 250g need a RID module or are they exempt? I have 2 friends with unregistered Mini2’s and I want to be sure I’m giving them the correct information. Thanks.

Thanks Slup. That’s the way I interpret it also. Now I’m wondering if recreational pilots who have CHOSEN to register their Mini are required to get a RID module? According to the FAA wording, I’m assuming NOT required but I’m no lawyer. My friends are not registered but the answer might clarify this issue for others on the forum. Thanks again.

Last edited:
The best way to remember this is that RID is tied to registration. So if a drone doesn't need to be registered (such as <250g recreational only drone), it does not need RID.

Also, they do not have to fly at a FRIA. They can fly anywhere they're allowed to under FAA regulations.

One point of confusion is that if someone were to be flying a <250g drone with Standard RID, that will be broadcasting, whether they are flying under recreational rules or non-recreational rules. RID systems (Standard or Module) must be tamper proof. That means they cannot be turned off.

So even though someone may not be required to broadcast RID, if they have a drone with Standard RID, they will not be able to turn it off.

Reactions: JDubyaM and okw
The best way to remember this is that RID is tied to registration. So if a drone doesn't need to be registered (such as <250g recreational only drone), it does not need RID.

Also, they do not have to fly at a FRIA. They can fly anywhere they're allowed to under FAA regulations.