DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

R.I.P. Christmas Drones. USA Today

I got a Xmas drone and didn't fly it for almost a week until I had first of all read the instructions, updated all my firmware, put it in beginner mode (as I am a beginner ;)) and lastly got enough balls to sit it down start it up and push the ascend joystick in an open area and not in a woodland on its maiden voyage and kept it in LOS at all times and I still have it almost 3 weeks later :).

Do your research and updates and take it slow and you will have your drone for many launches later. I live in Australia so the shark spotting drone is a good thing but we currently have shark spotting helicopters who if they spot a shark can loud speaker you to get out of the water, what is the drone going to do? hover above your head to warn you but you think it is taking a picture so wave at it like a piece of shark bait and next minute your the local news :eek:

Reactions: Former Member
the shark spotting drone is a good thing but we currently have shark spotting helicopters who if they spot a shark can loud speaker you to get out of the water, what is the drone going to do?

Shark spotting drones would be an invaluable resource for places that cant afford an $800 per hour full scale helicopter. There are a good number of drones capable of carrying a heavy enough payload to include a superb camera for spotting, and also a loudspeaker to tell people, "No dont wave at me, there is a great white behind you!"

Reactions: DAV8IE
Shark spotting drones would be an invaluable resource for places that cant afford an $800 per hour full scale helicopter. There are a good number of drones capable of carrying a heavy enough payload to include a superb camera for spotting, and also a loudspeaker to tell people, "No dont wave at me, there is a great white behind you!"