Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

Range with Mavic Zoom and Goggles RE

Rfern

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
2
Age
41
Has anyone had any luck resolving the issue of piss poor range with the zoom and goggles re? I know I’m not the only one and it’s extremely frustrating seeing the money spent. Please excuse me if I’m beating a dead horse but I could not find any other threads detailing it.
 

Ianf

Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
4
Age
64
I have the same problem beyond a couple thousand feet. Have you noticed any improvement if you switch to 720 rather than 1080?
 

Rfern

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
2
Age
41
I have the same problem beyond a couple thousand feet. Have you noticed any improvement if you switch to 720 rather than 1080?
No , I’ve switched from HD to normal mode and it does not help. I only get about 600-1000ft and then it’s crap. I’ve read switching your device to airplane mode has helped some, locking the drone onto 2.4, etc, lots of theories. Going to try the airplane mode thing but nothing else has worked. Turn the goggles off and everything is good. They’re are interfering with the signal between the uav and rc some how. Needs to be fixed . Have a $600 paper weight now.
 

Cyberpower678

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2017
Messages
3,988
Reaction score
1,797
Let me guess. The range is fantastic without the goggles? The moment the goggles are on you lose signal incredibly close to you? If you are suffering from this problem, you probably forgot to attach the Pagoda antenna to your goggles. Attach it and restart all of your equipment.
 

WAXMAN

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Messages
206
Reaction score
88
Age
75
Loc
Racine,WI
Let me guess. The range is fantastic without the goggles? The moment the goggles are on you lose signal incredibly close to you? If you are suffering from this problem, you probably forgot to attach the Pagoda antenna to your goggles. Attach it and restart all of your equipment.
I was understanding that you only can use the Pagoda when flying a Racing drone. It would not work with a Mavic Pro. Am I'm I right or wrong. Thanks.
 
  • Like
Reactions: gejsen

Rfern

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
2
Age
41
I was understanding that you only can use the Pagoda when flying a Racing drone. It would not work with a Mavic Pro. Am I'm I right or wrong. Thanks.
Some have said that works but not for me.
 

Cyberpower678

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2017
Messages
3,988
Reaction score
1,797
Pagoda is used only if operating on 5.8GHz.

There's a bug and there's nothing we can do about it until DJI come up with a fix. Make sure to complain to support.
I’ve had the same issues and the pagoda fixes it. Remember that the Mavic 2 runs on 5.8 GHz. This was field tested, by me multiple times.
 
  • Like
Reactions: WAXMAN

Roamer105

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2016
Messages
321
Reaction score
191
Loc
Dammeron Valley, UT 84783
No , I’ve switched from HD to normal mode and it does not help. I only get about 600-1000ft and then it’s crap. I’ve read switching your device to airplane mode has helped some, locking the drone onto 2.4, etc, lots of theories. Going to try the airplane mode thing but nothing else has worked. Turn the goggles off and everything is good. They’re are interfering with the signal between the uav and rc some how. Needs to be fixed . Have a $600 paper weight now.
Get the latest firmware on the M2 and the Goggles RE, then find the 4.3.0 version of GO 4. That combination seems to work better. I flew with the RE and M2P to nearly 2.5 miles from home point with no problems. Probably could have gone further. I am lucky to revive the older version of Go 4 using my older (no longer used) iPhone 6. I made sure auto-update is turned off so the old version stays put until DJI fixes this problem. Given this observation I think it is an SDK issue.
 
  • Like
Reactions: OJsakila

Kilrah

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2016
Messages
5,389
Reaction score
2,756
Age
36
Loc
Switzerland
I’ve had the same issues and the pagoda fixes it. Remember that the Mavic 2 runs on 5.8 GHz. This was field tested, by me multiple times.
It CAN run on 5.8 but typically offers lower performance when doing so, so just lock it to 2.4 especially when using the goggles, goes from appalling to bad.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JSKCKNIT

Cyberpower678

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2017
Messages
3,988
Reaction score
1,797
You can force it not to use 5.8. It helps if you keep it on 2.5 in most cases.
It CAN run on 5.8 but typically offers lower performance when doing so, so just lock it to 2.4 especially when using the goggles, goes from appalling to bad.
These arguments make no sense to me. Why should I force it to use 2.4 GHz if 5.8 GHz works just fine? It’s not difficult. Attach the antenna, issues go away.
 

Kilrah

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2016
Messages
5,389
Reaction score
2,756
Age
36
Loc
Switzerland
These arguments make no sense to me. Why should I force it to use 2.4 GHz if 5.8 GHz works just fine? It’s not difficult. Attach the antenna, issues go away.
Maybe they do for you but you're pretty much the only one to report that, for many others they don't.

Antenna or not in 5.8 my link cuts at 500m if goggles are on. In 2.4 I get about 1.5km. Still crap, but at least somewhat usable.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jzilla80

Roamer105

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2016
Messages
321
Reaction score
191
Loc
Dammeron Valley, UT 84783
These arguments make no sense to me. Why should I force it to use 2.4 GHz if 5.8 GHz works just fine? It’s not difficult. Attach the antenna, issues go away.
Not sure why the antenna should help. According to DJI, THAT antenna is not used for OcuSync 2
 

jotto

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2018
Messages
77
Reaction score
51
Age
43
Not sure why the antenna should help. According to DJI, THAT antenna is not used for OcuSync 2
That's how I have understood it as well. The external antennas are used for analogue video.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Gut Stuff

Gut Stuff

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2016
Messages
109
Reaction score
76
Age
64
I was getting around 600m but then I loose signal to the goggles. I will try locking it to 2.4 and see if that helps.
 

StanTGM

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2017
Messages
98
Reaction score
72
Loc
Frankfurt, Germany
I saw that the DJI forum is full of posts about the range issue.

DJI kind of recognized there is a problem. They say their engineers are looking into it...

Let’s keep our fingers x-ed
 
  • Like
Reactions: Gut Stuff

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
63,922
Messages
745,409
Members
90,817
Latest member
sirin_i