DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

RC Pro Cellular Dongle / LTE USB Modem Notes

mxrz

Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2022
Messages
6
Reactions
24
Location
Montreal
Received mine today. Works fine here in Montreal, Canada, on the Rogers network. Added a second line to my account for 10$ a month, it shares my main account data. Shows up as ROGERS ROGERS on the RC Pro screen:

DJI_RC-PRO_SCR1.jpg
 
  • Like
Reactions: oztx

FlySkyJumper

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2021
Messages
88
Reactions
40
Age
40
Location
Utah
Apologies if this has already been answered. I'm good with the fact that I can get my RC Pro connected to a cellular network, that's easy for me.

My question I have for those in this discussion has anyone had this work in the US, specifically, have they been able to get it to work with their Mavic 3 in the United States? If so, how did you do it?
 

FlySkyJumper

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2021
Messages
88
Reactions
40
Age
40
Location
Utah
Received mine today. Works fine here in Montreal, Canada, on the Rogers network. Added a second line to my account for 10$ a month, it shares my main account data. Shows up as ROGERS ROGERS on the RC Pro screen:

DJI_RC-PRO_SCR1.jpg
Did you have to have the dongle for both your RC Pro as well as the Mavic 3?
 

pspec

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2022
Messages
20
Reactions
9
Location
Switzerland
I purchased one DJI LTE dongle for the RC Pro, to have live maps.
It works with the cellular network in Switzerland.
 

Hauptmann

Well-Known Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 28, 2017
Messages
2,110
Reactions
8,797
Age
54
Location
North Texas
It does. However, the real benefit of the 4G dongle is when it is installed on the M3, and supported. It allows 4G to replace OcuSync 3+ during signal obstructions, like behind buildings in urban areas, preventing loss of signal RTH, and maintaining full control with FPV.
Hi, GG,
I hope to used the dongle to help maintain contact while flying in the "canyons" of urban environments. I'll be using the RC Pro controller and the MP3 and Mini 3 Pro. I live in the US. Do I need a dongle for the controller and each drone, and will should it work in the US?
 

rexster1505

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2022
Messages
146
Reactions
115
Location
Texas
Hi, GG,
I hope to used the dongle to help maintain contact while flying in the "canyons" of urban environments. I'll be using the RC Pro controller and the MP3 and Mini 3 Pro. I live in the US. Do I need a dongle for the controller and each drone, and will should it work in the US?
You'll need a dongle for each device. I haven't seen anyone that is using that setup in the US, just one dongle on the RC Pro which is plugnplay
 
  • Like
Reactions: Hauptmann

GadgetGuy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2016
Messages
5,605
Reactions
3,352
Hi, GG,
I hope to used the dongle to help maintain contact while flying in the "canyons" of urban environments. I'll be using the RC Pro controller and the MP3 and Mini 3 Pro. I live in the US. Do I need a dongle for the controller and each drone, and will should it work in the US?
Sadly, the DJI 4G drone-side dongle won't currently work in the US. A single drone-side dongle can be used with all supported drones. Just move it from drone to drone with the appropriate external mount. RC Pro only needs the dongle inside if you won't be hotspotting the RC Pro to your phone, which replaces the internal dongle, when used with a drone-side dongle that works. The internal RC Pro dongle still works in the US for map downloading and such, as a replacement for hot spotting. Currently, that's all it is capable of!

If traveling to Aussie land and China, you'll have more 4G success among the "canyons" of urban environments.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Hauptmann
Lycus Tech Mavic Air 3 Case

DJI Drone Deals

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
125,062
Messages
1,471,330
Members
151,646
Latest member
Logando