DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Scared to fly!!

palekaiko

Reactions
Hi!! I'm a newbie from NY. I bought the Mavic Air a few weeks ago and i'm a bit afraid to fly it. I tried it (taking it off the ground) and was scared and brought it right back down. I wish i knew someone that had one and could teach me but sadly, none of my friends have a drone. Any tips or recs to get over this fear? Also, any beginner tips I need to know to fly my drone?

Thanks so much!

There is so much information about flying and fear of flying on you tube that you should be able to find something that can help...The best thing I can tell you is to practice in wide open areas and keep the drone in front of yourself until you get used to what it can and can't do

Hi!! I'm a newbie from NY. I bought the Mavic Air a few weeks ago and i'm a bit afraid to fly it. I tried it (taking it off the ground) and was scared and brought it right back down. I wish i knew someone that had one and could teach me but sadly, none of my friends have a drone. Any tips or recs to get over this fear? Also, any beginner tips I need to know to fly my drone?

Thanks so much!
Yes.moat have felt that pain before. Leave in beginner mode. I would just left off the ground by launch control. “On the screen”. It should lift a few feet up only. Make sure you read the manual. Then small movements with controls until you understand them. Then basically fly real small area. Like 10 up and maybe 10 around you, with super slow with controls. See the idea real small and work your way up.

Welcome, first time I flew my Pro I was paralyzed by fear. There are many post here for first time fliers. I learnt alot from watching YouTube, Russ @ "51Drones" is a great place to start. It gets easier each time enjoy.

Baby steps - welcome - steer clear of water at all times till you are very comfortable - if u have DJI care refresh that should make u comfortable!