DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Should I Join AMA- for Recreational Use?

MikeJc1955

Reactions
Is it a good idea to join the AMA for drone pilots?
I am just beginning with about 10 hours of flight time with a Mavic 2 Pro.
What are other alternative associations that might be beneficial to recreational pilots?

If you're really interested in flying you drone or other types of model aircraft you should really support AMA... it's the only organization representing us as model aviation enthusiasts...be smart fly safe

Thanks for the input. Just wanted to make sure Droners are welcome to join AMA.
I always thought the were strictly fixed winged model airplane organization.
Their website doesn't make it clear.
Tried to call 1-800 number today, but I guess no answer on Saturdays.

BTW, this forum is very informative and entertaining.

Reactions: Classic flyer
Thanks for the input. Just wanted to make sure Droners are welcome to join AMA.
I always thought the were strictly fixed winged model airplane organization.
Their website doesn't make it clear.
Tried to call 1-800 number today, but I guess no answer on Saturdays.

BTW, this forum is very informative and entertaining.
AMA is very much open to drones, and helicopters...anything that flies...join and enjoy all the benefits...only open Monday- Friday...be smart fly safe

Reactions: dawgpilot
Some groups/chapters may dislike drones. I suppose I could see that as flying fixed wing or helicopter does take serious coordination while our quads are virtually on autopilot in comparison.
Even in ATTI mode, our quads are probably easier than the typical fixed wing. In ATTI, you only have wind drift to contend with. With hands off the sticks it still stays up in the air at fixed altitude.

Reactions: Drgnfli