DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Tello or Mini SE?

j727s

Reactions
Hi everybody.
I made an account just to post this, so sorry if I'm doing something wrong.
I make money by doing chores around the house (lol) so I get very little, like probably 60-120 usd a month, just as an example to show a financial view. I've been wanting to get better drones for a while, and I bought some cheap Holy Stone drones for under 100 and almost all of them are bad. And DJI drones have always seemed to cost a lot, so I never bothered. But I guess its ok now, so I have been thinking about saving for the Mini SE because I saw some videos and man are they cool. But I have also seen the Tello, and I'm a complete noob who quit drones for a year and is now getting back in. So I have also been thinking about the Tello because people say its a good beginner drone. I came here because I want to ask you guys which is better, with all pros and cons you can think of. Money(no refurbished), camera quality, app features and everything. Thanks!

Mink se over tello. Tello is like a toy with bad camera quality and range and mainly for inside use.

Check around on Facebook market and offerup can usually find good deals on the mini 1, se, 2

Reactions: j727s
Yep.

Mini se is better than Tello.

Good luck.

Tello is fine for indoors flying. It does not have a gimbal on the camera, and the cam position is fixed, pointing straight ahead. Image quality is very poor.

If you have any interest at all in photos or video the Tello is not a good choice at all.

For beginners though, do you think the Tello is good enough? Or should I hold out and get the Mini SE?

SE, hands down. It's very much like the Mini 1 which was a terrific little drone before the Mini 2 and Mini 3 hit the scene.