DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

U.S. Based - What will you do IF....

Good points by Russ about a possible/probable grandfather clause, economic impact of outright banning of DJI drones, and work-arounds like air gapping (possible download of DJI drone firmware updates onto USB drives?). I'm no expert on the technical side of things but what I am sure of is, if there is a will there is a way (to make it work).

Reactions: Prop Wash
I'll point out again that whatever concerns the Intel community has about the sea of consumer DJI drones can very likely be thwarted at the network.

I feel the gubmint has an obligation to exhaust that remedy first, before they execute a mass "taking", with a detailed explanation and example of why it's so vital to do so.

There's another far less draconian way to do this.

Earlier in my career, a project I was involved with for the Army required the code we developed be escrowed with a secure third party, and 2 Army software engineers were a part of the project, reviewing all changes and releases.

Their participation really wasn't intrusive, our company owned the code, and we were free to reuse it in an commercial applications. The practices were to protect National Secuity, not classified military tech.

Congress could require something like this, not just from DJI, but anyone that wants to sell drones to any government agency, at any level.

I have alternative drones, but even if this Bill becomes Law, I will keep flying my Mavic 3 until they pry it from my cold dead hands.
I have emailed my Representative in regards to H.R. 2864 , he responded on something total unrelated to drones, which proves Congresscritters are out of touch or don't care.
I HATE when they do that. I don’t want a canned response or something unrelated. They represent ME and my district, not the entire country.