DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

When is a NFZ not a NFZ?

Marko9219

Reactions
I'm new at all of this and just starting to learn, so bear with me and my question please! Tonight I was at a city park hanging out with the grandkids. I suddenly see a Mavic Pro flying around the park. I was shocked! This particular park is within 2 miles of the active runway at Hill AFB, UT. The park is so close, you can hear the jets taking off over on the runway. I immediately looked around to see if the pilot was within the park, or somewhere else. I quickly spotted a young man who was the pilot. I walked over to him, and asked him (very politely and in a non-threatening manner) "How did you manage to launch your Mavic so close to the base?" He was about 14 years old I would guess. He replied "I had no problem launching, but it won't let me go above 400 ft." He told me he had bought the Mavic last Friday, but it wasn't his first drone. He still had it in the shipping box it came in.
So, my question: I thought the Mavic would simply not launch in a NFZ like this is. Not true? I checked my Air Map app, and there is a big red circle around Hill AFB as there should be, and this park is clearly in that red circle. How did he fly??? What am I missing? Thanks!

What am I missing? Thanks!

The truth?

Seriously though not sure but I know some of the airfields have a graded height restriction.
Only experience I have had recently is getting a wRning that I am on the edge of a NFZ.
Someone else could give you a better answer.

What am I missing? Thanks!

The truth?

Seriously though not sure but I know some of the airfields have a graded height restriction.
Only experience I have had recently is getting a wRning that I am on the edge of a NFZ.
Someone else could give you a better answer.

Firmware .400 maybe:)