DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

where to fly in London? UK

fcefalu

Reactions
Hi all, been searching but not sure i found all the answers i needed. I am a newbie and want to start using my MAVIC. anyone can recommend a safe spot to practice MAVIC's usage in central london .... or the closest place? think battersea park is one of the spot but not 100% sure... Any advice is welcome

Screen Shot 2017-03-16 at 16.41.58.png You would need to look on the GEO function plus check that the park is not in a no fly zone.

Battersea is quite close to central city and maybe a problem these days.

yes thanks, certainly will do....
Better u head out a little as there us city airport close by and central london is pretty much used by everything from low flying helis to holding circles snd the parks attract attention fast.especially richmond. London itself is not too drone friendly but there are a few quiet launch sites along the river. Personally i try to keep to greater London and away from Heathrow.If you can move further afield do so if u cant expect some attention. On the maps NFZ is pretty much london. Scope around by the river u are low can keep low and get some good bridge footage but its hard to be anonymous with a Mavic in London

I use a park in Battersea for training flights. Never above 75' as the heli's come over. Stay away from people and dogs. I use prop guards in case a dog jumps up, not much use really, but it makes it look better to the public.
If it's quiet, I have used sports mode and managed 40mph.
It's about respecting other people and being safe.
No one has hassled me and I just stay below the radar.
Have fun and if you find somewhere I will meet you there when I get back from my work travels in April.