DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Why did you buy your first drone?

Diane

Reactions
Recently I saw some drone footage, and they are so stunning that make me want to buy one.
But I am not a professional photographer.So I am hesitating, should I buy a drone and try to shoot a video?
I'm curious about when you bought your first drones. What motivated you to buy it?
Have you ever regretted buying a drone?

I'll start with a bit humor... "Why did I buy my first drone?" Because I'd go to jail if I got caught stealing it... LoL

Actually, my first drone was a $30 GoolRC 161 from eBay and it was a DJI Mini Look-a-like. It flew great and I had a lot of fun flying it, but its camera was almost useless, even for Photos, video was a waste of time. Since it was an inexpensive drone, when the batteries were low, the lights flashed for about 10-seconds and then immediately landed, no control at all... So I would start the video just so it would show how long it was flying and at about 10-minutes, I'd bring it back and land it. before it went into its forced landing routine... Then I just deleted the video... I am not a photographer but I wanted to take photos from on high, and I watched a lot YouTube Video and was torn between the Mini 2 and the SE. The Mini 2 won out and my Photography progressed to shooting Photospheres and publishing them on Google Earth nd Google Maps... I'll post a link to one below and you can use your mouse to scroll all around 360 degrees and even zoom in...

That's my story and I'm sticking to it...

I’d seen some drone footage and was in awe at the vision that I thought only helicopters could get. Couple that with a desire to fly and I’d found my dream. Bought a used Air 1 (still have it) because it had 3 axis gimbal, some obstacle avoidance and was in my budget. No regrets.

Recently I saw some drone footage, and they are so stunning that make me want to buy one.