DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Wifi on phone causing interference?

Robollox

Reactions
My first Mavic 2 Pro was happily flying around shooting lovely video around the Cornish coastline, bought it back towards the beach, stopped around 20' out, came up with 'critical error' on the handset accompanied by beeping, hovered 4' approx above the sea for a few seconds, did not respond to the upwards stick, then dropped into the sea.

Then on this forum I read the other day, someone stated that if your mobile phone wireless is on, it can interfere with the RF. I wonder if this caused the fatal error?

Managed to wade in and retrieve the drone, shop changed it without too much hassle.

So now I've turned off the wifi on the phone. I'm now beginning to wonder if it's best to turn off Bluetooth, or set the phone to 'Airplane' mode?

Any comments would be greatly appreciated, as I'm relatively new to all this.

If the wifi caused interference (it probably didn't) the worst that you should expect is that RTH would be initiated (lost signal connection).

You can safely assume having the wifi enabled didn't cause your M2 to land in the water.

4' above the sea, did you have the downward sensors turned on or off?

If the wifi caused interference (it probably didn't) the worst that you should expect is that RTH would be initiated (lost signal connection).

You can safely assume having the wifi enabled didn't cause your M2 to land in the water.
OK, thank you.

4' above the sea, did you have the downward sensors turned on or off?
I had the craft set to 'P' mode, so I'm assuming the sensors were on. I have also read here somewhere that these sensors aren't particularly good at picking up water surfaces, so probably pilot error! I am new to these high end drones after all!