DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Working setups (phone and tablet)

cranngel

Reactions
Hi all
Fairly new here and to drones so I am no expert but I thought I would give back a little. When I was looking at what device to use with my Mavic, I ran across a lot of threads talking about what did not work. Frankly, it was discouraging and I spent a lot of time to try and figure out something that would be reliable but it was very hard to sort out since most of the posts are about things that did not work for someone. Of course, that is natural, we don't spend much time talking about what was successful. Anyway, I thought I would post something that is working for me in case it is useful to someone who is new and trying to get things set up

It seems that iPad solution tends to be more reliable but they are expensive (have to get the cellular versions to get GPS) and the displays seem somewhat dim outdoors. I am not anti-Apple (I am writing this on a Mac) but thought android offered more options at a more reasonable price. But ... seems like a consistently reliable solution or android is hard to find, at least it seemed so to me.

My first setup was with the Wunderphone. I set it up per the thread here and sideloaded DJI Go 4 version 4.15. Works great, no issues. The only problem I had with the setup was that I wanted something a bit bigger for my old(er) eyes. Still going to use it when I want to pack light and I think it is a great solution. Only other issue is the common one of the controller charging the android device and draining the controller battery. So far, I have not tried to do anything about that ... The display is great, no messed up video and the lag is not bad.