Get more from your Mavic
The largest Mavic community in the world
Join Us Now

Your range has been reached

Rchawks

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2019
Messages
524
Reaction score
501
Age
60
Location
Saint Joseph Mo
I know I'm missing something here. Not sure what. I've set the height to 390 ft and started with a limited range. But after becoming comfortable with flying it and resetting the distance to unlimited it still is fencing me in. Instructions say GPS I thought I had a good connection.
 
Last edited:

Rchawks

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2019
Messages
524
Reaction score
501
Age
60
Location
Saint Joseph Mo
Nope. I had 2 full flights and had it buzzing around like a rc plane. I have the height set at 390 ft but I notice the warning came on at 73 ft. The distance was set for unlimited but warning came on at 159 ft. The signals are set on Auto and the channel I was on was full green. Otherwise the Drone seems to be rock solid.
 

Rchawks

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2019
Messages
524
Reaction score
501
Age
60
Location
Saint Joseph Mo
I'm a bit frustrated, I feel like l'm in a fishbowl while everyone else is in a Olympic swimming pool. Really limits what you can do with a shot. 73 and 159 ft.
 

Bernie707

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2017
Messages
120
Reaction score
57
Age
74
I assume you tried it with the prop guards off
.
 

Paul51

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2019
Messages
79
Reaction score
67
Age
68
Location
UK
And you are sure your controller ariels are pointing in the correct angles ?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rchawks

Keule

CTO at SDS
Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
1,955
Reaction score
1,198
Location
48°18'25"N 11°52'10"E
Site
skydrone-systems.com
Log out from DJI Fly app - Log in again.
 

Rchawks

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2019
Messages
524
Reaction score
501
Age
60
Location
Saint Joseph Mo
Ok I’m also wondering in hindsight if I got lazy with my holding of the transmitter because of the iPad i will recheck everything tonight will do thanks guys!
 

MavicMan17

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2020
Messages
118
Reaction score
129
Age
27
Location
United States
Re-start your DJI app, turn -off and disconnect everything including the usb from your RC. Plug your phone into the RC or ipad whatever your using , and turn controller on and start your MM up and set it on a flat and level surface, I would go ahead and re-calibrated your IMU and compass and verify all settings and limitations again and take off.
 

Citizen Flier

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2019
Messages
211
Reaction score
100
Not sure if your question has been answered yet. Occasionally my Smart Controller doesn't update the new flight location/elevation -and it assumes I'm still starting from home at about 175'. I'm warned that max elevation has been achieved just a few feet off the deck. If I just wait & hover, the new location is updated & I can resume normal flight. But I don't fly over 400' above the takeoff point.
 

Rchawks

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2019
Messages
524
Reaction score
501
Age
60
Location
Saint Joseph Mo
I'm probably not hovering long enough for it to do it's update. I hover only about15 secs or so, maybe this might be part of the puzzle. I wanted to test some of these suggestions out tonight, but with working 10 hr days and nightly chores to do ran out of daylight. To everyone that's offered help Thank you the last thing I want to do is crash or fly a way from a simple error. Speaking of which what Paul said got me thinking about how careful you have to be holding the transmitter properly. Flying RC the antenna is a completely different design. I'm not use to this style. So could some fly aways happen because the flyer drops the angle of the transmitter while flying?
 

Citizen Flier

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2019
Messages
211
Reaction score
100
If the connection from controller to craft is severed, I believe that will initiate RTH. But be aware that RTH will be a straight line, at the RTH height specified. So as I understand, the unit will ascend to the RTH height, follow the heading, then descend directly downward to home. If RTH is set to 400', be sure to have enough power left to get back, and remember that it can be windier at 400'. I always fly manually & have not yet used auto RTH. Best to understand all that in advance. Helpful to view some good flight video tut's if you're new to this. Many factors at play, & then there's the . . . "X" factor.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rchawks

azmikew

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2020
Messages
21
Reaction score
16
Location
Phoenix, AZ
It sounds like you may not be logged in to the DJI Fly app, I'd log out of the app and log back in. I just read a list of potential Mini issues and fixes on this site and noticed the bit about being logged in


When you install the DJI Fly app on your Smartphone, you will be asked to log in or register. If you are not logged in, then your flight range will be limited in both altitude and range until you activate your login.
 
All E RC Mavic Drones

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
84,655
Messages
977,442
Members
113,262
Latest member
rogerjohnson5