DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Analyze my mystery crash log

lenn

Reactions
Being an anonymous lurker for some time, I was hoping to get some help from the community.

I experienced a mysterious and serious crash while flying today. The MP was only 350ft away, 150ft up but obscured by a tree when it crashed. Furthermore the video feed cut out (whole screen turned grey). The video recovered doesn't show an impact either. The height and location of the crash made a collision very unlikely. I know, another potential "fell out of the sky cases", but was hoping someone with more experience reading logs can help me understand what happened (signal loss? interference? collision?).

This is the crash log from the drone (it still powers up) and run through DatCon:
DJI_ASSISTANT_EXPORT_FILE_2018-09-14_16-19-41.FLY002.xlsx

This is the video I recovered from the on-board SD on the MP:

I'm an amateur but experienced pilot - flying a 3DR solo very frequently for the last 3 years with two minor crashes in my first year under my belt, and none in the last 2 years despite much more flying. This one has me scratching my head, and was hoping the community could help :)

EDIT: Included other files I've uploaded along the way:

Log from my phone: DJI Flight Log Viewer - PhantomHelp.com
Original DAT log from the MP: DJI_ASSISTANT_EXPORT_FILE_2018-09-14_16-19-41.DAT

Last edited:
To add, the battery was fully charged (95% at the time of crash), I had strong satellite health and was flying in GPS mode. I found the carcass approximately 10 feet from the last flight position in the middle of the road (suggesting it didn't collide with the building). My limited experience with the log shows "regular" motor RPM, voltage and amperage.

"just dropped out of the sky".....