DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Best camera settings for Mavic 2 Pro (guide)

I'm new to video so it is pretty helpful for me. One thing though, wouldn't stopping all the way down to f/11 kill sharpness with diffraction? I thought you'd want to run around f/4 and use an ND filter.

Apertures smaller than f4 reduces the image quality. 4K FOV reduces the image quality to 2.7K
And why do you recommend sharpness +1 for post?

I use DlogM with style 1,1,0 or 2,1,0 depending what it is i am shooting. I DON'T use ND filters on the M2P. For the most part, the only reason you may want to use ND filters is to achieve a motion blur effect while videoing which is often referred to as "cinematic effect". Personally, I don't like blurring up my video. Clarity is what I am looking for especially given that almost all newer TV sets have excellent motion compensation. So blurring does nothing to me. Consequently I am trying to keep the Aperture between 2.8 and 5.6 which does produce the best quality image with ISO 100. The rest I do by speeding up the shutter to wherever it balances out with the exposure requirements.

I DO use ND Filters, at least on my other cameras, as I am still waiting for high quality ones for the M2P. And the motion blur with 1/50 of a second exposure time is not really noticeable if you are not flying fast and low.
I film with 25fps. The balance in a moving picture between exposed and unexposed being 1:1 makes it for the eye much smoother to consume. So for me, the sweet spot is a shutter of 1/50.

Please help me here... if there is no noticeable motion blur - why would it be more cinematic? At the exact same frame rate, one complete still frame every 1/25 of a second. One recorded at 1/50 of a second shutter and the other with 1/2000 for example. Difference? The only thing I can think of is motion blur.

H.265 saves 50% more information than H.264 thus preserving more details.