DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Beware of .900

masaphotog

Reactions
I recently received a brand new mavic after mine was broken due to wind. I flew it a few times to get back in the saddle. I did not have time to update the drone to .900. Last night I finally had an opportunity to dive in. It failed. I was worried about my mavic being bricked so I took it outside to fly it at about knee height just to verify it would still fly. The props started and I gave it a little throttle it took off straight up. It would not stop no mater what I did. I held the down trottle to force a landing. It then fell out of the sky and broke my gimbal and a front leg. Please think twice before you you update.

Update: I received an email from DJI today. It was interesting.
I joined this forum to help others and maybe learn something about my new drone. I have been flying for many years. Mostly DJI equipment. I have seen in other posts how some of you know it all bastards want to be real hateful to anyone. Not uplifting, not helpful, and down right rude. Instead of asking questions about the incident you boldly state "PILOT ERROR". Your quick claim to the cause of my crash is short sighted and immature. There were a small number of you who offered suggestions and asked questions. To those thank you I hope you keep that up and make this community better. To the rest of you
09ca6c42ef0f1452c2711fec7fd76bb7.jpg
this is the evaluation from DJI. They advised me it was covered under warrantee there was an error with the drone that caused it to crash not pilot error.

Last edited:
It was the wind's fault?

I was approximately 250 feet into the air when the wind started to blow I turned the Mavic to bring it home as to not crash at the wind caught the gimbal and broke one of the fingers off the plate mount it was covered