DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Correcting Digitized Date for Lightroom

TheWolfen

Reactions
Hi everyone! I'm a pretty new Mavic pilot but long time photographer. I just wanted to share with everyone a trick I just figured out related to a Lightroom issue on a Windows PC. First, some background. I use Adobe Lightroom to manage all of my photos and videos. I noticed that when I import the Mavic's MOV files, the exif field Lightroom uses to determine the date of the file for organization purposes is called "Digitized Date" and it was always reading 66 years early (1951), although the time and the month/day were correct. This made Lightroom put all incoming videos under a folder for 1951 instead of the correct year, which messed up my organizational folder structure and forced me to move files manually.

I set out to figure out what the heck was causing the problem and eventually determined it was due to a bug in the Quicktime format when the QT digitized date field is not set in the exif data. It was essentially zero and Lightroom chose the default year based on the lowest value the format allowed. Since I didn't want to manually adjust the date for every single video and Lightroom doesn't allow you to mass update using a number of years for the offset (it only allows hours for adjusting for different time zones), I wanted to come up with a way to do it semi-automatically.