Get the most from your Mavic
Join thousands of Mavic owners helping each other
Join Us Now

DJI V01.03.0900 and DJI Assisstant2 V1.1.2 installed but:

marie

Active Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2019
Messages
42
Reaction score
6
Age
53
Location
uk
Hi Everyone,

With much help,from one or two members of this site, I have managed to install the above versions onto PC, and my Mavic Pro. I have followed setup videos on YouTube but still haven't succeeded in changing the altitude limit at 500. When I open up Assistant2 V1.1.2, and go into parameters, Fly_Limit_Height, (unlike the YouTube video) I have an extra column/row that displays 'Common Use Params' this will only change to a value less than 500; as in the YouTube video all the other values will change to 2500. Am I missing a trick?

Any help, advice on settings would be welcome.

Thanks.

Marie.
 

lannes

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2017
Messages
1,333
Reaction score
656
Location
Australia
DJI limit the altitude of the Mavic Pro to 500m as part of it's safety vision.

Can I ask why you need to fly higher than 500m. as the UK Civil Aviation authority limits drones to 120m in altitude ?



Flying at 500m increases the risk of a flyway due to higher wind conditions at altitude compared to those at ground level, sometimes the drone may not have enough power to fight the wind conditions.
It's better to stay lower, where the winds will be lighter
 

marie

Active Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2019
Messages
42
Reaction score
6
Age
53
Location
uk
Hiya,
I'm curious that's why. I like to know parameters can be changed, and how to do it.
 

lannes

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2017
Messages
1,333
Reaction score
656
Location
Australia
Hiya,
I'm curious that's why. I like to know parameters can be changed, and how to do it.
If you google it , there are guides to change it

Not sure if this will work anymore, it's quite old and DJI might have modified later versions of the firmware

 

marie

Active Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2019
Messages
42
Reaction score
6
Age
53
Location
uk
Thanks for that, I did use this guide, and others, I've downloaded old versions of firmware but even though it looks like it's changed altitude parameters the 500m max remains. DJI must have embedded this coding so deep it can't be changed.
 

ludde28

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Age
55
DJI limit the altitude of the Mavic Pro to 500m as part of it's safety vision.

Can I ask why you need to fly higher than 500m. as the UK Civil Aviation authority limits drones to 120m in altitude ?



Flying at 500m increases the risk of a flyway due to higher wind conditions at altitude compared to those at ground level, sometimes the drone may not have enough power to fight the wind conditions.
It's better to stay lower, where the winds will be lighter
example of legal flight when altitude mode needed:

(remote would show 800m in display in that case and setting needs to be changed to allow this legal flight - drone is never higher than 100m above ground)

There is difference between "height over start point" (DJI shows) and "height over ground" - specified by law
 

Attachments

Last edited:
All E RC Mavic Drones

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
80,352
Messages
930,205
Members
108,644
Latest member
anze007