DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Does ND filters help/hinder the dynamic range of the drone camera?

SoCal2S

Reactions
Specifically, for photogrammetry work. They recommend flying on an overcast day so the shadows aren't as harsh and don't exceed the dynamic range of the camera. But here in SoCal, besides the start and end of the day, the sun is almost always out in full force. Would ND filters help in this case or would it simply shift everything darker and not have any impact? Or does the dimming effectively shrink the dynamic range of the scene? Does anyone have direct experience with this?

I'm no pro but I suppose ND filters will not shrink the dynamic range generally but they move the dynamic window to the brighter side. They reduce the amount of light that hits the lens like sunglasses do with your eyes. So if you win or loose dynamic depends on your specific situation.

If you have dark areas in your photo with minimum lights the NDs will erase this "minimum" and the dark areas will have no details anymore and will just be black. But NDs will solve problems with overexposure in the bright areas of the photo because they "erase parts of the overexpose" and give you back some details.

Because too much sun is your problem I would give it a try. The other and easier option of cause is to change the expose value at your drone, but your drone must have that option.

Reactions: SoCal2S
ND-filters does one thing - they reduce the amount of light reaching to your sensor.
To get a correct exposure you need to either use a slower shutter speed or open up the aperture.

For example an ND16 filter reduces light with 4 stops.
So if correct exposure for a given scene is 1/125 sec at f/4 without filter, you must reduce the shutter speed
to 1/8 sec to get the same exposure. The photos with and without ND-filter should look the same.