DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

FAA107 Ques.

NJFreemason

Reactions
Hi,
I am new to drone world. I own a Mavic Pro Platinum. Since I live in an urban area, I have been going to a drone school to practice flying. I am interested in flying commercially at some point. The school offers a FAA107 class for $1100. They say it is a one on one. I see some online ones for as low as $125. Would like some feedback on other certified 107 pilots out there on their experIence. Also, I know we don’t have to register our drones. But, can we and is their a negative to voluntary registration.

As a hobbyist, you only have to register yourself once if any of your drones are over 250 grams.
When you become 107, then you need to register each of your drones that you plan to fly under 107 rules.

Reactions: AMann and dawgpilot
Hi,
I am new to drone world. I own a Mavic Pro Platinum. Since I live in an urban area, I have been going to a drone school to practice flying. I am interested in flying commercially at some point. The school offers a FAA107 class for $1100. They say it is a one on one. I see some online ones for as low as $125. Would like some feedback on other certified 107 pilots out there on their experIence. Also, I know we don’t have to register our drones. But, can we and is their a negative to voluntary registration.
I took the Remote Pilot 101 online course for my Part 107 prep. I would highly recommend. Lifetime access to the course and the Recurrent course for $149. I actually prefer the online format where I can go back and review a video as many times as I want. They are also very responsive to questions.

Reactions: Lbesing and djscoe
Yes...you must register your Mavic...quick and easy to do online:

On that website you can register - and see the operating regulations under the Exception for Recreational Flyers. It only costs a few bucks and can be done thru this FAA site.