DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying by screen advice.

Welsh m4vic

Reactions
As a novice i am in need to pick your brains of experience on flying by screen when your unit is out of sight. We have many castles waterfalls and cliffs which i have began to venture too try and shoot. Problem being is that i get disorientated flying by screen, even to the point of when i flyover waterfalls the difference in altitude spins me out (lol wimp).
Loads more questions but any advice would be great.

• Wow
Reactions: DoomMeister
I hope you're aware that in the UK you legally need to be able to see your drone always at every point in the flight - called maintaining VLOS (visual line of sight). You shouldn't be planning a flight that means your drone is out of sight. Perhaps you can position yourself in a different location so that you can see the drone and still get the shots and viewpoints you were after?

This rule is in place because, as you've noticed, it can be difficult to really understand what is happening around the drone when all you have is a video feed on a screen to look at.

Here's the full drone code, which is worth a read: The Drone and Model Aircraft Code | UK Civil Aviation Authority

Stay safe and have fun flying! ?

Last edited:
Happy to help ?

I'm not sure what drone you have, but just wanted to point out, too, that you need to have an operator ID since it has a camera (doesn't matter how much it weighs). This ID needs to be written on your drone somewhere (a bit like a car number plate). The link to the drone code above explains this all more clearly. You'll need to do an online test and pay £9 to get all the IDs you need. The test is fairly easy to pass once you know the basic rules for drones (eg, restricted areas around airports, max altitudes, VLOS etc)

Apologies if you've already done all this... however, it's surprising how many people are unaware of the current requirements