DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying over beach allowed?

jimAIR2

Reactions
I'm a fairly new recreational pilot flying a Mavic Air 2. I recently shot a video moving over a beach with scattered people below. It does not pause and hover there, it just flies over the beach at about 100' and out over the water. I've seen quite a few similar videos posted on youtube, but I'm hesitant to upload it because I'm unsure of the rule about flying over people. Any advice?

Technically, flying directly over people in the US requires complying with the flying over people rules. The only way a DJI drone qualifies is if you use a Mini 2 with prop guards, and a "Japanese battery" which is lighter than the standard so that your total weight stays under .55 pounds at take-off. Which means most of us aren't allowed to fly directly over people. But my understanding is that "directly" is quite specific, meaning that if the drone dropped straight down it would land on someone's body. So with a little care you can probably get great beach videos without violating this rule.

I'm a fairly new recreational pilot flying a Mavic Air 2. I recently shot a video moving over a beach with scattered people below. It does not pause and hover there, it just flies over the beach at about 100' and out over the water. I've seen quite a few similar videos posted on youtube, but I'm hesitant to upload it because I'm unsure of the rule about flying over people. Any advice?
The answer is complicated because there are several layers to this and it’s largely a subjective determination. Is it clear and obvious that you broke a rule? No… but it is in a bit of a murky gray area. If flying for recreational purposes you could probably get away with it.