DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Hi from Italy

nicdain

Reactions
Hi everybody,
Thank you for admitting me to this community!
I am a newbie in the world of drones and I don't own one yet. I live in Italy (Florence) and I have waited for the italian regulations to adhere to european laws before buying a drone.
I will probably opt for a light UAV (<250 grams) because there is no need for license in order to fly it.
Since I still have to start practicing piloting, I am still uncertain if buying a rather inexpensive Mavic Mini or jump to the newer but more pricey Mini 2, given the fact that I would also like to practice with some 3D mapping and, at present, Mini 2 SDK are not available and it is not clear when they will be.
Any advices?
Thanks

Hello from the Hoosier Heartland nicdain.

If I had to choose, I would go for the mini 2 just because it's better than the mini 1.

But as you stated, the SDK hasn't been released yet for your specific task of mapping.

DJI recently released the SDK for the Mavic Air 2 so the mini 2 may be released in the future. ?

Good luck and welcome to the Forum. :cool:

Welcome, enjoy whatever you get.
I bought a 2nd Mavic Mini ( second hand) following the launch of the Mini 2. The main reasons being
a) compatibility with what I already owned.
b) a glut on the 2nd hand market and some reduction in price.
I think the MM does a grand job PROVIDING you bear in mind its limitations, i.e. It struggles in strong wind. The Mini 2 is slightly better but in conditions where the Mini 2 could fly and the MM could not, I would be using a Phantom 3 or an M2P, so that isn't a consideration for me.
Some people see the increased control range of the Mini 2 as essential, I do not. The MM flies to the limit of my eyesight, normally without trouble, and beyond. So, the MM's control range is perfectly adequate for my flying.